Kayak Compass Location on Deck?

I recently spent a day out in the marshes on the intracoastal side of Mustang Island near Corpus Christi/Port Aransas, TX (Sunday after the Wooden Boat Show!).  I don't have a handheld marine GPS and hated the hassle and monetary risk (plop, ooops!) of checking my phone GPS very frequently.  And with a good breeze blowing I didn't cherish the idea of taking wrong turns into dead-end coves instead of through- channels.  I've got plenty of experience on the water (Nav/Ops in the navy all around the world), but found navigating those marshes (even with plenty of radio towers, oil rigs, etc. visible on the horizon) from down at the kayaker's eye level just as challenging as any navigation I've ever done.  Thus, I just ordered a compass and wood block base from CLC.  Enough for the stories.

I have a Chesapeake 17.  I have just enough room (maybe 6 inches total) to put the compass mount between the forward cockpit coaming rim and the aftermost deck bungee, and still room to get the spray skirt on and off.  That might make the compass feel like it is "in my belly button" but will make it easily reachable for wiping off, adjusting the bezel, etc..  Off course I can put it further forward (more in a natural line of sight) ahead of my foredeck bungee set up (which is only about 18 inches wide) - but I often put my life jacket (it has pockets for suncreen & etc) on my foredeck, so I do have to be sure to place the compass far enough forward to see over any bulk gear I decide to strap on.  No matter what, any mounting location forward of the bungees means I can't reach the compass while underway.  I checked with da'Google and see compasses mounted many differing locations.  Plastic sea kayaks with pre-made mount locations seem the have the compass about half-way up the foredeck.