Trailer vs. Roof Top Rack

I'm trying to decide if I want to transport my WD12 via the roof rack system on my Honda CR-V or go with a hitch and trailer instead. As I will usually be by myself when I am using my kayak, I'm thinking the trailer would be easier for a single person to transport a kayak. I have never been on the highway with my Lifetime composite body kayak, and I don't seem to be able to ratchet down the straps tight enough before they loosen up after a few miles...However, if I'm just transporting just a single kayak on the Trailex trailer (or other) on the highway, do I have to add weight to help it track better at high speeds...any experience and advice is welcomed. 

Thx

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Trailer vs. Roof Top Rack

I've been putting my WD12 up on racks for the last 13 years and never felt any urge to put it on a trailer. Most of the time I also carry it from the parking lot to the launch spot, though if the distance is more than a couple of hundred feet I'll use strap-on wheels. It's just an easy boat to handle. It works out well to cartop it since many of the places I launch are free for vehicles but charge for trailers. Toll roads and bridges also tend to charge more for bridges. FWIW, I'm 65 and can still lift that boat above my head, even after a long day paddling. It's a lovely light design.

Laszlo   

35 years of trailering boats too heavy to cartop have taught me that boat trailers can be an extreme PITA.  Don't get me wrong: I had a great many adventures messing about with those trailer sailers over the years, but cartopable boats are the ultimate "impulse" boat for getting into play quickly, with minimal fuss, to take advantage of smaller "windows of opportunity" and accessing out of the way places where having a trailer would be problematic, as Laszlo has wisely pointed out.