Building oars for passagemaker

im a newbie, but I did build the boat. Im thinking about making a pair of oars from the clc plans. I mostly plan to use the PM as a sailboat, but rowing also sounds appealing. Around how much would the wood cost?  Where does one buy the wood? Is it really difficult to build these?

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Building oars for passagemaker

I write because your post might imply that you'd consider going out sailing without oars or a paddle onboard.  Don't do that - always have some means of propelling the boat aboard other than the sails.

Because I got started, I'll add just another two cents about building the oars. I think most everyone that builds a boat is in it for the satisfaction and craftsmanship of the process - the zen while building and the pride when done.  So if that's why you'd like to make some oars, by all means do so.  However, if you're doing it to save money, even with counting the value of your time as zero, you won't really save a whole lot over purchased oars.  Looks like about $80 or less for some perfectly suitable wooden 8' Caviness oars (no locks) at West Marine right now.  If you don't like the red rubber grips you can find others without.  Add up the price of finding and then buying some good wood, add epoxy, sandpaper and varnish and I think the cost will be about the same. So, if you'd like to build oars because you want the satisfaction of building them, by all means do so.  I just wouldn't do it if your purpose is to save money, especially if you want to account for your time having any value.

And I'll add for clarity's sake - I do see you're looking for a motor.  That doesn't count - even with a motor, you should always have a paddle or oars aboard  And since the boat is built to row, I'd highly recommend oars.