Jimmy Skiff Launching and Retrieving

Hi All,

Yesterday was the shakedown cruise for my newly completed Jimmy Skiff II.  Love it, but learned there's a lot of kinks in the launching/retrieving process that I need to work out.  

I use a trailex trailer towed behind my car, and I launched from my local boat ramp.  I had assembled the entire sailing rig at home and tied it securely to the boat prior to towing, with the top of the mast sticking out about 4 feet from the stern, marked with a red caution flag.  Not ideal or particularly safe, but the ramp is only a 10 minute drive from home.  

Rather than back the boat/trailer down the ramp with the car, I decided to uncouple it and walk it down to the sandy beach located next to the ramp.  This is mainly because I'm still learning to manuever the trailer in reverse.  I'm not a newbie at doing this, but this smaller trailer is challenging.  Plus I need to learn how to disable the auto-brake feature in my car because it keeps detecting the trailer/boat as a safety hazard. 

Once the boat was on the beach, I stepped the mast and then rowed out a hundred yards or so, where I anchored in order to raised the rest of the rig.  It was an awkward row with the sprit, sail and lines still laying down in the cockpit all around me. 

I'm looking for advice/help/insights on what procedures others follow in terms of managing the rig when trailering and then launching/retrieving the boat.  For example, do you transport with "bare poles" and then completely re-do all the lines when making ready or returning home?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

RayV    

2 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Jimmy Skiff Launching and Retrieving